Councils and Task Forces

Alumni Task Force

Former singers and their parents who support our programmatic evolution, create opportunities for alumni to continue their involvement and advocate on behalf of the organization.

Monica Carney*
Sima Cunningham
Madeline Dowling
Christina Hatherly*
Terry Henderson
Cece Hill
Jackie Johnson
Caroline Kagan
Allie Kersten
Alexa Moster
Kala Moynihan*
Wylene Patterson
Nikita Sekhar
Courtney Ward
Ayanna Woods

*Board members

Community Council

Our honorary Community Council is composed of individuals who make our work possible and support our ability to have deep relationships within and across our communities.

This group of professionals provide advice and collaborative strategies to navigate the successes and challenges of our work in various areas.


Dr. Susanne Baker
Director, DePaul Community Music School

Jonathan Brooks
Co-Pastor, Lawndale Christian Community Church

Angela T. Ingram
Senior Vice President, Communications, Chicago Region iHeartMedia Markets Group

Abigail Muldoon
UX Researcher, Bold Insight

Josephine Robinson
Retired, World Vision Chicago

Michael Strautmanis
Executive Vice President for Civic Engagement, Obama Foundation

Angela Sedeño, Ph.D.
Executive Director, The Kedzie Center

Tanya Woods
Executive Director, Westside Justice Center

Creative Council

We’re proud to collaborate with local creative leaders who represent the cutting edge of their respective disciplines in the city of Chicago and beyond.


Angela Brantley
Co-Founder and Creative Director, Hero/Black

Hebru Brantley
Visual Artist

Nick Cave

Thomas Kehoe
Founder & President, Kehoe Designs

Azeeza Khan
Owner, Azeeza US

Rob Lewis

GQ & JQ Qaiyum
The Q Brothers

Monica Royer
Owner, Monica + Andy

Marie Whitney
Owner, Two Penny Blue

Family Engagement Task Force

The Family Engagement Task Force supports Uniting Voices Chicago’s overall communication and community building efforts with participant families.

This committee provides caregiver perspective on the Uniting Voices Chicago experience, shares opportunities for family involvement and advocates for Uniting Voices Chicago programs. This committee is comprised of caregivers whose children are currently enrolled in our Choir programs and is chaired by a member of the Board of Directors.

*Board Members


Renee Salomon, Chair of the Family Engagement Task Force
Nancy Barraza
Sharon Boyd
Garley Briggs
Steven Carlson
Benjala Cotten
Ladonna Freidheim
Anna Gonzalez
Laura Maheshwary
Yessinia Martinez
Ranjanan Rajendra
Annalee De Ramos
Antoniya Reed
Margarita Rena
Leah Talmers
Stacy Wilson

School Council

The School Council is a consortium of educators and administrators who help evolve our school programs and communications to ensure successful partnerships and outcomes for students and families.


Scott Ahlman

Gerardo Arriaga

Dr. Natasha Buckner-Pena

Kathleen Finke

Anjie Lipsett

Dan Moore

Ashaki Reed

Bill Riddle

Dr. Erin Roche

Dr. Wanda Withers